Weekend Coffee Share ☕️ 2.6.16

weekendcoffeeshareIf We Were Having Coffee. . .

I’d tell you it’s official 20/20 is going dark semi-dark for a while. Why? you may ask or maybe you did. It doesn’t matter because I’m going to tell you why anyway.

1) There’s a saying, “Be careful what you wish for.” Since I’ve been tutoring I’ve been trying to figure out how to turn it into a business. Well, maybe it’s not a business yet but it’s on its way to being something more than a volunteer position. I’ve been helping the little girl I tutor out more a couple of times a week. And I’ve been approached by a couple of other parents.

I was talking to one of my regular bus stop buddies about tutoring, and this lady overheard me. We got to talking and she told me about her son is struggling with reading. I think our eyes lit up simultaneously, when she realized that I could help and I lit up at her realization.  On Thursday, I met with her and her son to talk about tutoring him. He’s a smart kid, but I think he needs to go back to basics. What the sounds of letters make and letter combination sounds. We’ll see. She and her husband have a meeting with his teacher next week and she told me she’d let me know after that. I let her know that I would happy to work with his teacher in getting him up to speed.

2) I want need to go back to where the blogging began. I started blogging back in 2011 with my short story blog and I need to get back to it. I didn’t realize how much writing I had pinned up until I started doing my daily 10-minute writing exercises. Over the last month, I’ve had more verbal diarrhea than I’ve had in years. I feel like I’m decluttering my mind. Getting these characters and storylines down on paper is really quite cathartic. There are quite a few junk stories that will never see the light of day, but there also quite a few gems that have potential.

3) I need to get back to reading more. This keeps getting put on the back burner because I’ve been focusing on blogging. I belong to two book clubs and because I haven’t carved out time to read I’ve missed out on reading and discussing several good books.

4) Lately, I really haven’t been feeling 20/20 Hines Sight, so a reboot is in order. I have more unfinished drafts than I care to admit. And maybe, just maybe spending some time away not thinking about all the unfinished drafts that never get finished or the ‘finished’ posts that never get posted will help get them finished and posted.

Having said that, I still plan on writing a Coffee Share post and making my rounds. I’m not sure I’ll do a Share every week yet, so we’ll play that by ear. I will be focusing more on my short story blog and I’m going to post a few of my 10-minute writing exercises this weekend. Please feel free to stop by and let me know what you think.

If We Were Having Coffee. . .

I’d tell you that yesterday I signed my short story blog up for the Blogging from A to Z Challenge. I thought about not doing it, but figured my prompts are already mapped out and I’ve started pre-writing. I’m #602 of 626 participants thus far.

Oh wow, look at the time! I do apologize for keeping you so long. I hope you’ve enjoyed your stay and I’ll see you at the next coffee share. Have a great weekend and a wonderful week.


Don’t forget to join the coffee link up at Part Time Monster and share it on Twitter by using #WeekendCoffeeShare.

Oh yeah and by the way.

11 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share ☕️ 2.6.16

  1. Congrats on the tutoring. Hope it works out for you. I have also signed up for the A-Z Blogging Challenge. Need to start getting onto planning and writing posts.
    This year is having a mighty slow start as I’m getting my kids settled into their new schools and there’s always so much to do. Had a great day in Sydney yesterday going to see Matilda the Musical and checking out some of the Chinese New Year celebrations.
    Hope you have a great week xx Rowena

    Like

  2. It sounds like you have a lot of really good things going on, and there definitely seems to be a plan in place. Good luck and godspeed—looking forward to seeing how this works out for you. 🙂

    Like

  3. I can relate to so much of this post, especially the need to reboot thought! 2016 has started out with so many unfinished things on my To Do List from 2015 I was already overwhelmed before I added the first few things from the new year. But if you and I were having coffee I would say: “it is indeed possible to get back to reading and blogging after rebooting; and your tutoring will become a firm reality along the way.” Good luck for the future; the sky is your only limit 🙂

    Like

  4. It’s nice to see you on this coffee chat, it’s been a while. In ways my blog is starting to become a short story blog – I post 4 this week alone. Cool about all of the tutoring. I hope you do find a way to make into a side business. Have a great week!

    Like

Speak your peace . . .